phoenix, art by James Hubbell

Art Credit: James Hubbell

Editor’s Note: The Phoenix

phoenix - editors note 10-2016

Since the launch of our first online issue in March 2006, the editors, writers, photographers, illustrators, web designers, and marketing and information architects here at Wild River Review remain committed to publishing stories that shed light on communities around the world.

October 2016

Read more ...

Up the Creek – Crossing Cultures: Transcending History

stocke-crossing-circle

It is difficult today to appreciate how much the religious landscape of America and our awareness of Islam and the Muslim world has changed since the late 1960s. In less than forty years Islam and Muslim politics have moved from nowhere to everywhere, from obscurity to center stage in international politics, media coverage and our neighborhoods, schools and the workplace. This all stands in stark contrast with the demographics and expectations in America in the mid-twentieth century.

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Art and War: Beyond the “Suffocation of Cliché”

nagy-stocke-war-circle

In a recent talk with writers Nadine Gordimer and Salman Rushdie for PEN World Voices, Israeli author David Grossman referred to Franz Kafka’s short story, A Little Fable, and echoed the sentiments of the character of the mouse who, confounded by the limitations of its view (and nearing a trap), lamented, “Alas, the world is growing narrower every day.”

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Before and After

stocke-before-godzilla-circle

September 11, 2001 - On a Mediterranean-blue-sky morning in central New Jersey, I’m at my desk on a writing deadline. The windows are open and the scent of sweet autumn clematis drifts into the room. Instead of staring at my computer screen, I’m thinking about how, if I squint at the sky in just the right way, I can pretend I’m back on Turkey's Lycian coast.

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Create Dangerously

Danticat

“Why do you stay in prison when the door is so wide open?”

Jelaluddin Rumi, the last line from Stephen Kinzer’s latest book, RESET.

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Life of the Mind: Independent Thinking in a Complex World

labyrinth-books-circle

What does it mean to think independently?  As the U.S. presidential elections head into the final stretch, and countries around the world grapple with profound change, it seems particularly relevant to consider how we teach our children to be responsible, independent thinkers and engaged citizens. But is this kind of thinking even possible?

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Man in the Mirror

tchallah-michaeljackson-circle

I'm Gonna Make A Change, For Once In My Life It's Gonna Feel Real Good, Gonna Make A Difference Gonna Make It Right . . . -- Michael Jackson, Man in the Mirror

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Memory, Memoir, and World Voices Continues

Abouet - Africa

As the twenty-first century shakes off its down and settles into itself, memoirs have become one of the literary world's biggest sellers. When told with integrity, they are a lesson in self-examination and in the machinations of culture.

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Money and Soul

Cecilia Varea

Can money buy soul? Or, can money ease the soul, allowing it a place to rest and flourish? As we continue our series, A Wild Peace, Angie Brenner talks to Celia Varea of FUDECE, Ecuador. For twenty-seven years, Varea worked at the Central Bank of Ecuador in Quito. Through the work of Varea and Grameen type microfinance programs - lending small money with reasonable interest rates without collateral to women in cooperative groups - 21,000 women across Ecuador have been able to end a cycle of desperate poverty, develop self esteem, and create a brighter future for their children.

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Stories and the Shape of Time

Stories and the Shape

Storytelling can be risky for the teller and the receiver. But what if the storyteller has taken the contemplative time necessary to reach a truth they sense in their heart and mind? What if the storyteller has risked traveling dark alleys where images hide within the folds of their brain?

Read more ...

Up the Creek: What Would the Buddha Do?

tchallah-soul-circle Why is the planned construction of a Buddha statue—taller than three Statue of Liberties stacked one on top of the other—causing the disenfranchisement of poor Indian farming families? How did a symbol of love come to cause so much suffering?

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Wine, Women, and Song

Vineyards of Hunterdon County

New Jersey, the Garden State? It's no joke that when I mention my adopted state anywhere in the world, invariably someone will conjure up an image of industrial skylines and smoke stacks, much like the view one sees in the opening credits of the HBO series, The Sopranos.

Read more ...

Up the Creek: A Wild Peace

stocke-fulbright-circle

“Peace requires as much listening—real listening, not just waiting for the other party to stop talking so that you can complete your thought without paying any attention to another’s point of view. It requires a willingness to try new modes of thought and conduct, a real effort to look at an issue differently.” --Harriet Fulbright

October 2009

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Eco-Chicism and New World Monkeys

soderman-going-green-circleThis issue includes an interview with author of <i>New World Monkeys</i> author Nancy Mauro; Going Green, Eco-Chicism and the Stain of Sustainability;Lost and Found: One Artist's Portrayal of Modern Over-consumption; Go West Young Desk Jockey. and Robert Waite's Thurgood Marshall's Coming.

September 2009

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Beautiful Solutions

stocke-beautiful-circle

Imagine this: In the center of Princeton, New Jersey, in an empty lot that will soon be home to a condominium complex, a landscape gardener envisions a temporary Eden devoted to science and art. That gardener, Peter Soderman, joins forces with landscape architect, Kevin Wilkes, Princeton University Dean of the Faculty David Dobkin, and Princeton University President Shirley Tilghman. Dobkin and Tilghman then recruit some of the university’s top scientists and artists.

August 2009

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Blind Faith

stocke-up-the-creek-minoan-circle

Imagine a world where every word our leaders utter is the truth and all their actions are for the greater good, that our friends are always looking out for our best interests as we look out for theirs, and with compassionate negotiating skills, problems - from border disputes to issues of race, religion and gender - will easily be solved.

July 2009

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Gravity of Thought

utc-gravitycreek-cricle

In the Wild River Review universe, stories lead to one another and connect in ways one might not expect. Shaped by the force of gravity, yes, but we also aim to escape from its physical force long enough to realize its opposite: the freedom to create our own thoughts, and thus, shape our own place in the world.

May 2009

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Crossing Borders

stocke-upthecreek-kat-circle

Interesting thing about borders. Before you can cross them you must stand on a threshold. And at that threshold you have a decision to make: Do you go forward or do you turn back? As Wild River Review prepares to cross our own border - an upgrade and redesign of our site – we examine various thresholds and borders, all of which come with risk, some offering great rewards and others not necessarily the reward we thought we would find.

April 2009

Read more ...

Up the Creek: The Elements of Style

stocke-utc-elements-style-creekeagle-circle

The concepts of fluidity and rigor guide Wild River Review. And we are fond of making corny river metaphors at staff meetings and gatherings. Most of the time we feel as if we're in a rubber dinghy, one that smacks against rocks, follows a tributary to dry land and then needs to be dragged across gravel. But we trust the process and believe in it.

March 2009

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Guitars, Cell Phones, Laptops: Life and Music in a Digital World

stocke-utc-guitars-circle

We are shaped by what we experience, but also we have the opportunity to shape our experience. Cook’s website contains the blueprint for the speakers his orchestra uses. His dream: To see laptops become a means of art, something to be used in concert where people sit together, take cues from one another and explore the boundaries of sound.

February 2009

Read more ...

Up the Creek: How Little We Know

stocke-utc200808-circle

Science is pointing the way forward and will continue to do so. But the way forward is also worthy of investigation by novelists, religious thinkers, poets, and philosophers. Maybe the questions themselves have something to teach about humility, how to develop an open perspective, a willingness to learn, to adapt, and ultimately accept how little we know.

August 2008

Read more ...

Up the Creek: The Moon, a Radio, and Campaign Finance Reform

stocke-utc-200807-moon-circle

Articles include: (1) a spotlight on the Faustian bargain inherent in the Public Financing of Candidates; (2) Katherine Schimmel's presentation of her aunt Annemarie Schimmel's lecture given at Harvard University in 1992, which sheds light on how philosophy, practice and law are intertwined in Islam; (3) Talk Radio, a short work of fiction; (4) the Triple Goddess Trials column, Fire in the Head, re-imagining the myth of the goddess, Brigit, keeper of the creative flame; and(5) Landon Y. Jones' essay Babe in the Woods recounting F. Scott Fitzgerald's summer in Montana, and (6) the Israeli-Palestinian Face 2 Face project.

July 2008

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Life, Literature, and Death

wishes on the water

Day by day I float my paper boats one by one down the running stream. In big black letters I write my name on them and the name of the village where I Live. I hope that someone in some strange land will find them and know who I am. - Paper Boats, Rabindrinath Tagore

No matter where we are born or what our life circumstances present us, human beings share a fundamental desire to be known at the deepest level of our souls, to move toward one another beyond the physical limitations of our bodies. When we feel ignored, abandoned and unseen, our desire to be known can erupt into despair and violence. In this issue, we explore ways in which we long to be seen, what happens when we cross into despair, and what might ultimately save us.

June 2008

Read more ...

Up the Creek: What it Means to Yearn

brokaw-keita-circle

There are many ways to yearn. When we are younger we yearn for the future, often hoping for something better and brighter. And as we grow older, we reach back to our childhood memories, perhaps searching for clues as to how we’ve arrived in the present.

May 2008

Read more ...

Up the Creek: The Great Leap Forward

April 2008

Read more ...

Up the Creek: A Wild Vision

cotton-rectangle-circle

In this issue, Joe Glantz rings out the year with humor in his interview with Charles Dickens, the first of a series of interviews with “The Famously Departed.” Landon Y. Jones, the former editor of People and Money magazines, and a native of St. Louis, Missouri follows the trail of F. Scott Fitzgerald to Montana. Dale Cotton previews a new building designed by the architect, Frank Gehry. Bill Gaston reviews New York Times columnist Paul Krugman’s, The Conscience of a Liberal. And we reprise my interview with Norway’s Per Petterson, whose novel Out Stealing Horses was named one of the ten best books of 2007 by The New York Times Book Review.

January 2008

Read more ...

Up the Creek 2.5

editor-banner2-circle

The second issue of the Wild River Review gathers a chorus of voices to examine the human condition in all its beauty and grittiness. Much of the mystery inherent in our lives comes from those who go out into the “forest” and come back to give us clues as to how we might live more fully.

Dec. 2007

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Fire, Moon and Stars

In a world where a friend can send an email from Istanbul, Turkey to my home on the Eastern Seaboard asking for an update on the fires in California; and I can reply by asking about his family who lives in Southeastern Turkey in the midst of Kurdish insurgency, Indra’s net casts its jewels far and wide.
Perhaps in the burning energy of our actions, in the asking of difficult questions, in the processing of images and information, lie the seeds of transformation.

November 2007

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Art, Yoga and Abu Ghraib

auth-timpane-2-eda_april-circle In the words of Thomas Jefferson: The price of freedom is eternal vigilance. But how do we define freedom? The right to move about at will? The right to declare our innocence until we are proven guilty? The right to humane and ethical treatment if we are detained for an alleged crime? And if it comes down to an accusation of guilt, the right to a fair and honest trial?

August 2007

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Candle in a Long Street

utc-candle in the circle

This issue marks the beginning of a series of articles focusing on Iraq. We profile artists and writers shaped by and shaping Iraqi culture; and next month, Iraqis and Americans working together to bring justice to those who were tortured at Abu Ghraib prison.

June 2007

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Home and Away: A Celebration of World Voices

I am writing within the milky haze of jetlag, having landed at Newark Airport at 4:00 a.m. on a flight from Delhi, India. My hands ( which, to the unknowing observer, look blotchy and stippled orange) distract me with each stroke on the keyboard, reminding me that one week ago, a young girl skilled in the art of mehendi, or henna design, applied thick walnut-brown paste to hand and palm in ancient floral and vegetal patterns; part of preparations for a traditional Sikh wedding near the Pakistan border.

March 2007

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Food for Thought

wrrcover2-circle

Just as the currents of a river flow and change so do the currents of language and ideas featured on Wild River Review’s pages. We showcase in-depth journalism, essays, stories, poems, reviews, comics, artwork, and profile innovative thinkers from around the world. In our “First Bylines” section, we publish emerging writers’ and artists’ works, giving them much-needed bylines to help launch their careers. In addition to regular international columns, we host bloggers whose frequent posts encourage our magazine’s spirit of conversation.

February 2007

Read more ...

Up the Creek, Thicker than Water

editor-banner3-circle

“Thicker than water.”  Say those words in a room full of people and it’s likely someone will reply, “Blood is...”  But is blood thicker than water? The authors and artists in our third issue of Wild River Review set out to explore how we make connections, and ultimately who and what binds us together.

December 2006

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Editor’s Notes

editors-banner-1-1-circle

Welcome to the Wild River Review, an interactive exchange of writers, artists, and thinkers examining our shared experience through a prism of stories. As co-founder and editor, I have a deep appreciation for the artist’s voice because it speaks so intimately to my own. Since I was a small child, I’ve fancied myself to be a collector of stories. I remember my grandfather talking to me as he sat in his green, nubby-wool easy chair, a lace doily pinned to the headrest to protect the chair from his Brylcreemed head.

April 2006

Read more ...

Up the Creek: Editor’s Notes

editors-banner-1-1-circle

Welcome to the first issue of the Wild River Review!  If you love good writing in all of its aspects — fiction and non, poetry and prose, literary and genre — you'll be able to find it here at Wild River Review.  In coming months we will be presenting writing of all kinds, including some pieces you wouldn’t expect to find in a literary magazine. We’re nothing if not outside the box. As we flow along the Wild River expect to encounter: experimental writing, first bylines, young voices, novel excerpts, original voices, the write stuff, and more.

April 2006

Read more ...