Jane Hirshfield, Contributor

Jane Hirshfield

See other contributors.

Jane Hirshfield is the author of eight books of poetry including The BeautyCome, Thief; After, and Given Sugar, Given Salt. She has edited and co-translated four books presenting the work of poets from the past and is the author of two major collections of essays, Nine Gates: Entering the Mind of Poetry and Ten Windows: How Great poems Transform the World.

Her books have been finalists for the National Book Critics Circle Award and England’s T.S. Eliot Prize; they have been named best books of the year by The Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, Amazon, and Financial Times; and they have won the California Book Award, the Poetry Center Book Award, and the Donald Hall-Jane Kenyon Prize in American Poetry.

Hirshfield has received fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller Foundations, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Academy of American Poets.

Her Poems have appeared in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, The Times Literary Supplement, The Washington Post, The New York Times, Harper’s Magazine, Poetry, Orion, Discover, The American Poetry Review, McSweeney’s, the Pushcart Prize anthology, and seven editions of The Best American Poetry. A resident of Northern California since 1974, she is a current chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.

To Learn More about Jane Hirshfield and her new work, click here: Knopf/Doubleday.

Jane Hirschfield in this Edition

POETRY: Ten Windows and The Beauty